the opening of Seoul National University


Meaningful Days of Korean History

the opening of Seoul National University +

the opening day
After Korea's liberation from Japanese colonial rule in 1945, the U.S. military government planned to create a national Seoul National University by integrating other universities specializing in industry and agriculture with Kyungsung Imperial University at the center.

On July 13, 1946, the U.S. Military Government officially announced the "National Seoul National University Plan" and the "Act on the Establishment of National Seoul National University" was promulgated on August 22, the same year, and Seoul National University was officially established.

At the time of its opening on October 15, 1946, nine colleges (Munri University, Engineering University, Agricultural College, Law School, College of Education, College of Education, College of Law, College of Education, College of Commerce, College of Medicine, College of Arts, Dental College) and one graduate school were started. Since then, the size of departments and graduate schools has gradually increased.
  • 20200924144412_0.jpg
  • 20200924144412_1.jpg
  • 20200924144412_2.jpg